Onus

Hey guys. Well I have a new song written and not sure if it’s good or not, but whatever, you guys can read it and tell me what you think of it lyrically. I haven’t solidly prepared a melody for it just yet, but with so many ideas bouncing around, I feel that it’s gonna be a while for me to get that one style. Meh.

Anyway, this song is about coming out  of a bad friendship or relationship, or anything negative that you come out of. I for one have been in many friendships where I’ve been treated like a piece of dirt. I’ve felt worthless, weak and generally unnecessary to myself and the people whom I chose to associate with. I eventually distanced myself from those people, but there’s always that one side of me that wallows in self-pity. ‘Why did I have to do something so stupid? Why me?’ are among the many things I’ve said to myself or to others (mainly my family), and it’s embarrassing frankly. I hate it. That’s why, on the other side of my mind, I’m also scolding my ‘pity’ self into moving the hell on! This is one of those little arguments between those two sides. I called the song Onus as I feel with all of us who have been in those situations, we have an obligaiton to get up and move on. We’ve been through enough, let’s just leave it, and move on! Anyway, here you go: Onus 

Onus

Verse 1
Who are you?
Can you leave my bed?
A tricky situation

What do you want?
Thoughts racing in my head
Pure Dissatisfaction

Pre-Chorus
I don’t know where you’re from
But I know I don’t want you here
I see the tears on your face
But let me make one thing clear.

Chorus
I don’t know you
And I don’t care
Get out of my face
Get out of my hair

A simple mistake
Has stained your faith
You think it’s over
Fallen from grace
Have you seen?
Any scars on your chin?

Verse 2
Come on now
Both in this together
Lets move some things around here

What a clown
There is so much you fear
I just can’t understand how

Pre-Chorus
Why you acting like this for?
Unaware of what you’re doing?
Pick up the dignity from the floor
And let me say just one more thing 

Chorus
I don’t know you
And I don’t care
Just wipe your face
Go fix your hair
A new start

A new start can begin
Bridge

I didn’t want this either
I hope you know that, right?
It takes two to tango
And two to fight

Come now, please move on
Make things easier
I only want the better for you
Fight back the tears

Chorus x2(?)
I don’t know you
And I don’t care
Get out of my face
Get out of my hair

I don’t know you
And I don’t care
Just wipe your face
Go fix your hair

Have you seen?
Any scars on your chin?
A new start
A new start can begin

Leave a Reply

