Respect

After having a good think in the shower, my haven, my home. I decided that respect was something I wanted to touch on. What the hell is respect, and why should I give it to people?

To me, age, experience, etc does not define whether you should be respected or not. I’m just gonna go ahead and say that straight up. Just because you are older than me does not make you a respectable figure. People may think I’m wrong for thinking that, but that’s just my opinion. If I, a younger person went up to an older individual I would respect them just like how I would respect anyone else. As a stranger. They aren’t important enough for me to care about, and they haven’t done anything wrong, so of course I’m going to treat them with respect as I believe in the ‘Treat others how you would like to be treated too’ thing. So I respect everyone. Children, teenagers, people my age and anyone older. However, as soon as someone puts on a show of superiority, then it’s game over. I think that people feel an obligation to get respect due to their age and then to act like they’re superior in front of people who they see as less experienced and whatnot. I understand that. However, I don’t agree with it, Just because you’ve been in the game longer than me, doesn’t mean you know all the rules. Just like how I wouldn’t treat a kid younger than me as if I know everything. I don’t expect you to do the same. I could be smarter, wiser, more qualified than you, and you still think you have authority over me? No. I don’t think so. The only way I will treat you with respect is if you do the same to me.

I am generally a nice person. I will always greet new people with a smile, a friendly ‘hello’ and other such greetings and in general, respect them. But if you respond with a bad attitude, then I’m returning it from then on. All respect has been lost because you didn’t give me respect. It’s no longer about age, but about manners. I don’t know you, you don’t know me, so this could have gone really well for us two, but your stupidity made it impossible, and now we’ve both lost out. It doesn’t matter if you’re older than me. If you don’t treat me with respect, don’t expect any back. It’s that simple.

Perhaps I should write a song/poem about it. Express the distaste I have with such a notion. Respect only belongs to those who earn it, not through a pre-ordained obligation.

Anyway, that’s all I really wanted to write about. I’ll catch you guys later. Safiibox out!

Leave a Reply

